birthday wishes

so I’m nearly 40. Si has been asking for ideas, Louise asks if I want a party. I really don’t know but this is my current short list…


  1. time alone! To nap, to read, to stitch, to wander the beach.
  2. Mirabilia’s Stargazer chart and beads. That’s here: http://www.123stitch.com/item/Mirabilia-Designs-Stargazer-The-Cross-Stitch-Pattern/06-1285 I have the perfect fabric already.

  3. another trip to Sea World – I could spend several hours at that lagoon. My own fish tank can’t quite compare. Yet. I do have a shark! 

  4. patience to finish Arezzo. Over 1 might not have been the best choice but now I do know the technique and limitations for when I need to do over 1 on a larger design. 
  5. another Sheltie. I promised Si I wouldn’t buy one. I never promised I wouldn’t accept one! This is Robbie, adopted from a puppy mill by one of the FIL’s friends. He’s gorgeous. 






Result!

I finally got up the courage to ring the hospital yesterday – outrage winning over the I-don’t-wanna-know’s. It’s been three weeks since the MRI and even our GP hadn’t heard anything. The MRI lab had to send the results thru to the surgery but the upshot is:
the tumor is consistent with the appearance of FNH (so therefore benign)
the size is 6.5 x 4.5 cmm
I still don’t know if it requires surgical removal or anything, those doctors notes haven’t been made available.

tuesday (a totally inspired title)

well the MRI was not as bad as I had thought it would be. Only panicked the once, and frankly I put that down to having to listen to Dolly Parton, LOL. Now have to wait on the doctors report, blah.

Pa’s notice is in the Herald today.
KING

Robert Lewis (Bob). Reg No: 447141 Dr NZEF WWII. Born 3 October 1922 Patea, Died 15 November 2009 peacefully at Rotorua. Dearly loved husband of the Late Patricia Mills Dobson. Beloved father and fatherinlaw of Jonathan and Audrey, Christopher and Jocelyn and the Late Peter. Cherished Grandfather of Paula, Robert and David, Sara and Michael, Corinne and Kristin and Great Grandfather to their 12 children. Son of the Late George Whittaker and Irene Badger, Brother to the Late Barbara, Kenneth and Roy King. Former Managing Director of Griffins Biscuits, Lower Hutt. “We will miss his wisdom, gentle nature and sense of humour.” The Service for Bob will be held at The Joseph H Gray Memorial Chapel, Cnr Amohau and Pukuatua Streets, Rotorua on Thursday 19 November at 2.00pm followed by Private Cremation. In memory of Bob a donation may be made to the Rotorua Hospital Chapel and left in Grays chapel foyer. All communications, please, to The King Family, c/o P O Box 434, Rotorua. Ph: (07) 349-2468.

well crap

There are sadly a few things to feel crap about.
On the me front, I have my MRI tomorrow. I sincerly doubt that the people involved will look like anyone from Grey’s Anatomy, which is my only experience so far with MRIs. I hate enclosed, small dark spaces and even worse, I have to give my glasses up. So blind will be added to my list of woes. Oh, and I am expected to fast. It just gets better and better!
On the family front, yesterday morning our Pa passed on. He was a wonderful man and always had time for us. I feel bad that we didn’t take Mase to him (when we were in Vegas recently Si was coming down with a cold and we didn’t want to give that to him; just as well as that one landed me in hospital); that we or me didn’t make the trip more often. But I know he’s happy where he is, with Gran, as they spent too much time apart. Worried about my Dad, and how he’s taking it; and feeling for cousin Sara. It’s been a rough couple of years for her.
Bran has taken this badly too but was last night quietly curled up with a photograph. I don’t think Zac understands death, as he was so “whatever” about it. I think I’ll be having a Q&A session with him in a few days when it sinks in.
As for me it just doesn’t seem real.

catching up

sorry have been very slack!
Right now, I am at home, having finished work (yay!), just finishing off some things, enjoying time with Si and waiting on bubs. We’ve done the “dry run” into the hospital (not very exciting), put part of the new wardrobe together (even less exciting, as we took the time to sort out/throw out/laugh at some clothing choices, and I realised I had a snowball’s chance of wearing some of these things this year) and just resting.

Bubs is all good and has an eviction date of next Friday, the 31st. I am huge, feel as big as I did with Bran, so a bit aprehensive! Never mind – he’ll come out somehow, right? Right?!!

And I need to focus a little on 365 – this has def gone by the wayside. Si hasn’t shown any enthusiasm for it which is making it really hard from my POV.

A very quick update on my week…

Monday – boring. So standard I couldn’t even think what to take a photo of. Or talk about. Maybe the kids’ homework? The car dashboard? Dunno.
Tuesday – got onto JetStar and brought Si a weekend home very cheap. Brilliantly cheap!
Wednesday – was supposed to be the D Day for work. Instead they didn’t show up, causing a lot of resentment. The email came thru at 1.35pm about when they were coming – it should have been a lot earlier! But I found out I was nominated for the Warriors Women in League so Lynne and I are going to the function and games on Friday. Yay!
Thursday – amazingly, I almost slept thru the night. First time in two weeks and OMG I can see my ankles again! Got called up for my one-on-one late in the morning. Jerome said that he regretted to tell me that my application for X position had been unsuccessful. Said thanks, but actually I didn’t apply for that position. His face was priceless. Honestly, I could have wet my pants laughing – if it wasn’t so tragically Mickey Mouse. Pointed out that in the general meeting the previous day he had said this wasn’t an opportunity for promotion, and that I’d taken this on board. He said he couldn’t remember saying that, but in this light they needed to reconsider my application. Half an hour later, I have a job. I really think that I was going to be made redundant but their error has meant that they can’t. But happy, as now I have a leaving date, parental leave and a job to return to. Everything I wanted!
Friday – Got wolf whistled at and turned around. On seeing my 32 week belly, his mates gave him grief. Bit late, buddy, I said. Still smiling – he didn’t expect that! Then breakfast with Michelle at Divan. Yummy muesli and fruit. Some loose ends to tie up at work and then some business reading. I need to get some chapters read and notes down.

Feeling Blah – so looking on the bright side…

Today we had a big meeting at work – well, some of us got carted off to a lawyer’s conference room for the big reveal. Talk about scary – and my co-worker was freaking, which I admit now I have a VERY SMALL tolerance for, and that didn’t help.
Upshot is our positions are disenfranchised. What a stooopid word. There are positions that we can apply for, but in full on cynical mode I don’t see me getting considered. Who would hire someone 30 weeks pregnant? Would you?
So now I am waiting on my interview tomorrow. My entire paid parental leave hangs in the balance too so pretty sick to the stomach (altho that might be the two pieces of fudge).
BUT – having just got my daily fix of Ali Edwards, here’s a list of what I’m currently grateful for:

  • Si has a job, and is loving it (long may it last!)
  • I do have bubs to look forward to (if I could sleep thru labour, that would be the icing on the cake)
  • my kids are all healthy, good and adorable
  • my antenatal bloods came back and they were fantastic
  • I adore my totally supportive midwife
  • I’ve had phone calls of support from suppliers already. Word got out there so fast. Wow.
  • We currently have a roof over our heads and while I may have to go talk to the bank manager, let’s leave that until we know something concrete, rather than all these maybes
  • I might finally learn how to use Photoshop.
  • This might be a new door opening.

ARG!

Those of you who are close family members – please hold that smirk to yourself.
I just found a grey hair. Promptly, of course, yanked it out. Then remembered the old wives tale about this making them replicate even faster…

Had a good weekend with excellent effort on the field and lots of help from Louise (who got to watch Twilight in peace and quiet last night, with no little brothers around to comment! Sorry about your Dad, honey, but I can’t control him) and conscripted help from Bran (hopefully that will be the last time he tries to get me up at 4am!); Zac enjoyed his playdate with Cole (they both refused to change or shower out of their playing uniforms!). So a clean and tidy garage – anyone else would park a car in there! – and lots of baby stuff to sort thru and wash. Lots of surplus stuff to list too.

No progress crafting wise but as the other half flies out on Sunday next for three weeks min I hold some hope there…

a wet & wild weekend

I must be the first to admit – I was really hoping for league to be rained out this weekend. And it was! I just had so much to do, and not enough time as it was…
* clean out study (Si did the first of his filing cabinet drawers, yay, and I think found stuff going back to 1986!)
* list the books/items I no longer want (got about 1/4 way thru, so at least some progress!)
* make up the cot (nope, not done)
* help Si plumb in the bath taps and handbasin upstairs (done! just waiting on the sealant to cure and I won’t have to share my bathroom with the boys anymore!)
* exchange the library books & Cds (done, small fine, oops)
* feed the ducks at Western Springs (done, and there were heaps of eels too. Even crawling over the rocks under the double arch bridge – gross)

* take the boys into work for a photo with Ben 10 (done, they thought it very cool and wanted to bring him home. Ah, no!)
* clean up the garage (frankly, was never going to happen)
* scrap a digital layout (nope, but found my photoshop guide so some small progress)
* eat breakfast in bed (sadly, not one of my elder three made me any food or cups of tea this weekend! MIL made roast lamb on Friday as a belated birthday dinner and it was yummy)
* cleaned out and organised about half my stash (listed quite a bit)
* thought out the weeks meals in advance. Takes care of that 5pm panic!

So all in all, pretty sucessful. Plus had finished going thru all my years worth of Creating Keepsakes, ripped out the bits I use/want and filed these in clear slips. The rest are going to my midwife next week for her and her daughter to take what they want, then I guess to a kindy. Lots and lots of colour and use for a kindy collage!

Down to 9 weeks of work left as of today. Starting to get a bit scary! At least Si is enjoying his new job…we are a lot luckier than some other families. I just need to work on not being so grumpy. The family would be nodding their heads right about now…LOL

catching up

It seems lately that all I seem to be doing is playing catch-up. At work, home, league – it’s really hard to get ahead. This coming weekend is going to have to be disciplined work – I have the lounge, kitchen, study & part of the garage to sort through, ad the cot to assemble and get used to (we brought a new-to-us one, as we’d given away the other years ago).

But I am looking forward to:
* looking at my baby’s new bed
* knowing where my stash is at (all over the place is not conducive to scrapbooking or even journalling!)
* selling some or as much as I can of the overload. Si would be shocked, but I can actually say “goodbye” to a huge volume of my books
* planning things, like meals, in advance. I’ve been sort-of doing this as I look thru the supermarket brochures each week, and there is a fantastic download on Becky Higgin’s blog on the 5/5 which I shall adopt
* having a place for the baby’s things – need to get the other set of drawers from the MIL’s garage

What are you looking forward to?

Oh, and by the way – it’s a boy. “Dangly bits” and all.